Author Topic: Lithium Ion Battery Range Poll  (Read 5908 times)

ryan.brandys

Lithium Ion Battery Range Poll
« on: October 03, 2008, 10:40:24 PM »
We are looking at supplying managed lithium battery packs to the EV hobbyist. Please select the battery pack range and price you'd most be interested in.

nathan.stowe

• mysmartev
Re: Lithium Ion Battery Range Poll
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2008, 03:19:02 PM »
I am holding out for Li to be about 5k for 30-40 miles range.   I had worked out a deal which was just a bit more expensive than this from thunder sky, but given their bad track record and that this is my first attempt at an EV, I decided to go with the tried and true PbA for now.  Then when those are dead, see what is offered.

ricky.hazen

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2008, 12:23:19 AM »
With my daily commute being 60 miles (30 each way & if we ignore the cost of conversion) I would feel -
Rather uncomfortable with the 40-60 pkg.
A little more comfortable for a period of time with 60-80 pkg.
A lot more comfortable with the 120-150 range.
BBBBBBut - at the moment I'm still in the ICE age & at current prices = many tanks of pertol . . . . . .  :'(

larry.backes

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2008, 12:58:30 PM »
Like Nathan, I voted for none of these because I will wait until the price comes down further to purchase.  $8K for 100 miles.

geoffrey.pullinger

• Geoff Pullinger Website
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2008, 11:38:17 PM »
I guess I should have asked how many charging cycles at 80% DOD are lithium batteries capable of.  The knee jerk reaction is to say no or none when you look at the prices (I did).  However if they are capable of 1,500 to 2,000 cycles vs 300 or 400 for lead acid batteries then the lithium batteries could actually be cheaper  - as long as you don't wreck your EV in the first 60,000 miles or so. 

todd.dore

• Veteran
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2008, 12:28:05 AM »